Neubrandenburg and the airport region

The four-gate city Neubrandenburg offers a variety of different possibilities: culture, nature, lakes, architecture and science. With a direct location on Tollensesee hospitality and idyll are combined. Neubrandenburg is well-known beyond its city limits due to its many special features: the preserved medieval city walls and the four city gates, the Marienkirche with the Neubrandenburg Philharmonic Hall, but also as a sports town and economic center of the Mecklenburg Lake District.

The airport region Neubrandenburg lies between the metropolitan areas of Stettin, Rostock, Hamburg and Berlin in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania and flies around the airport Neubrandenburg-Trollenhagen. This is located in the community Trollenhagen, six kilometers northeast of Neubrandenburg. In 1934 this was built as a military airport and operated until 2013 by the German Armed Forces as the air base Trollenhagen.

Since 1993, the airport has been co-used by the airport Neubrandenburg-Trollenhagen GmbH civil. With the end of the military use the airport company took over the complete operation of the plant. In April 2014, IFR flight operations (instrument flight) were resumed on the basis of an airspace G (Golf) with an RMZ (Radio Mandatory Zone).

Neubrandenburg und die Flughafenregion

Die Vier-Tore-Stadt Neubrandenburg bietet eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Möglichkeiten: Kultur, Natur, Seenlandschaft, Architektur und Wissenschaft. Mit direkter Lage am Trollensesee werden Gastlichkeit und Idylle verbunden. Durch viele Besonderheiten ist Neubrandenburg über ihre Stadtgrenzen hinaus bekannt: die erhaltenen mittelalterlichen Stadtmauer und den vier Stadttoren, der Marienkirche mit der Neubrandenburger Philharmonie, aber auch als Sportstadt und wirtschaftliches Zentrum der Mecklenburgischen Seenplatte.

Die Flughafenregion Neubrandenburg liegt zwischen den Ballungsräumen Stettin, Rostock, Hamburg und Berlin in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und schiegt sich um den Flughafen Neubrandenburg-Trollenhagen. Dieser liegt in der Gemeinde Trollenhagen, sechs Kilometer nordöstlich von Neubrandenburg.

1934 wurde dieser als Militärflughafen errichtet und bis zum Jahr 2013 von der Bundeswehr als Fliegerhorst Trollenhagen betrieben. Seit 1993 wird der Flughafen von der Flughafen Neubrandenburg-Trollenhagen GmbH zivil mitgenutzt. Mit Ende der militärischen Nutzung übernahm die Flughafengesellschaft den vollständigen Betrieb der Anlage. Im April 2014 wurde dann der IFR-Flugbetrieb (Instrumentenflug) auf Basis eines Luftraum G (Golf) mit einer RMZ (Radio Mandatory Zone) wieder aufgenommen.